Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

3 Year Old's Pirate-themed Room (piog)

Posted by on May. 8, 2009 at 3:19 PM
  • 5 Replies

Does anyone have any decor ideas for a pirate-themed kid's room? I don't really have much in there yet, just some wall stickers. I would really like to keep this as inexpensive as possible and I don't mind doing some crafty things myself. Also, he has two pretty large bookselves in his room and I would like to do something decorative with them, but I'm not sure what to do. I'm really new to this whole decorating thing. Please help. TIA.

by on May. 8, 2009 at 3:19 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
tairakittie
by Platinum Member on May. 8, 2009 at 3:23 PM

You can make a pirate flag out of felt or fablic to hang on his wall. With the book shelves you can get a dark stain and rub it on then let it sit for a little while and wipe it off again until it looks like a treasure chest kind of... and then you can put cool gold hardware on it. um... what else did you want to do? I can think of a million cool things but I dont know if you want like a little kid pirate room or just look like a "real" pirates room?! Oh and you can get that muslin type of fabric and some grommets and make "pirate sail" curtains for his room.

kgsharber
by Gold Member on May. 8, 2009 at 3:27 PM

You can get some paper & draw a treasure map with dark pencil. Then burn the edges. Then soak the paper in tea for about 10 mins (to stain it). Once it dries for a few hours glue the paper to the back of the shelves (the part people can see) and then spray Kraylon clear gloss spray paint. If you want to embellish anything with red touches or a little pale blue for the water you cn do that after the spray paint dries & then just do another coat of spray paint when you finish.