Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

question about military and jury duty.........

Posted by on Jun. 4, 2009 at 9:51 PM
  • 8 Replies

Not to get on the drama train again, but does anyone either in the military or a spouse, or prior service KNOW  FOR SURE how jury duty works if you are stationed in 1 state (or overseas), yet summoned for jury duty in your home state (supposing your driver's liscense is from that state)? I'm really curious, and I pulled up NH, my legal residence, but it doesn't say. BTW I am a spouse not a soldier.

*If you have any info. could you please attach a link from where you found it? Thanks.

by on Jun. 4, 2009 at 9:51 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Navygurl76
by on Jun. 4, 2009 at 10:03 PM

Not sure how it works in NH, but I am active duty military and was called to jury duty in IL. I called the number that was on the jury duty summons and told them what my situation was and about being active duty and they told me to fax in a copy of my military ID and that I would not have to stand jury duty. If there was a contact number on the paperwork, I would give it a call and find out what the procedure is for your state.

Hope that helps,

Pilar

RmeWifey01
by on Jun. 4, 2009 at 10:13 PM

Ahh, I see. Thanks. I haven't gotten one yet but I am sure my turn is coming, though they still have us registered to vote by absentee ballot out of Germany, so we didn't get to vote in this election. Yeah I am torqued about that!

Quoting Navygurl76: