Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

What is a teaching degree called?

Posted by on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:34 PM
  • 23 Replies

I am thinking of going back to school to be a teacher. I cant find what the degree that teachers need is and I want to see what classes I need to do that. Does anyone know?

by on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:34 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
misssy2000
by Ruby Member on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:36 PM

I already looked under education and teaching and those classes dont exist.

shajdinyak
by Gold Member on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:36 PM

It depends what you want to be certified in, I have a Bachelor of Sciene in Elementary and Early Childhood Education.  I have Masters Degee in Special Education.

brandithesuperm
by on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:40 PM

I'm in a community college and the 2 year program they offer is Associate of Arts in Teaching or A.A.T

ILoveMyJason
by on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:41 PM

I'm not sure if it works this way in every state, but here (as far as I know), you get a teacher's certification (outside of college) and major in a subject at school that you feel may be a focus of yours. There is no specific "education" major.

Lilypie Lilypie
laranadtony
by on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:42 PM

a certification as a nut

What good is your shouting if I am not listening anymore?
misssy2000
by Ruby Member on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:42 PM

okay, I think thats what I want except I want to teach grade school classes, but not just science what is that called?

Quoting shajdinyak:

It depends what you want to be certified in, I have a Bachelor of Sciene in Elementary and Early Childhood Education.  I have Masters Degee in Special Education.

Paesana82
by on Jul. 18, 2009 at 3:44 PM