Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hello everyone!

Posted by on Oct. 30, 2008 at 10:40 AM
  • 11 Replies
  • 1031 Total Views

Hello Everyone,

For those that don't know me  yet, my name is Sarah and I am the proud owner of this preemie group.  I have had two preemies (one was a 28 weeker girl and the other was a 23 weeker boy) so I have lots of preemie experience.  You name it, I have probably seen it, experienced it or heard about it.  In my spare time, I am a writer and am currently working on a book about premature babies.....it's a lot of work but it's truly a labor of love.  I am also working on some articles about premature babies that I plan to submit to magazines.  I am very passionate about premature babies and raising awareness.  I have been researching preemies for years now so I am pretty educated if anyone has questions.  Though I have worked in the medical field, I am not a doctor and any advice on here is by no means a diagnosis.

I started this preemie group because I remember when I gave birth to my 9 year old daughter Tianna who was a 28 weeker. I was not experienced or educated about preterm infants.  I felt very alone and like no one could truly understand what I was going through.  It used to drive me crazy when people (probably well meaning) would say that they understood what I was going through when they never had a preemie.  I want a place where moms can come and share support and ask questions without feeling silly.  I always say that no question is a dumb question....it's when a parent just sits there and never asks questions as I sometimes did with my first preemie.  My second preemie was a different story....I was very, very proactive.  I knew what they were doing, the meds they gave and why, the tests, etc....  If I didn't know, I either asked or researched it until I did know.