Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Tamiflu question

Posted by on Nov. 20, 2009 at 2:30 PM
  • 14 Replies
  • 730 Total Views

My son has a fever and a really bad cough, I took him to the doctor and they ruled out pneumonia and bronchitis. They THINK he has or may be getting the flu, so the prescribed tamiflu for him. I'm not sure if it's really necessary and I was hoping someone in this group might have some info or advice on the medicine. Thanks!!

by on Nov. 20, 2009 at 2:30 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
buzymamaof3
by Bronze Member on Nov. 20, 2009 at 2:41 PM

Please please please do not use Tamiflu, it is dangerous and has some nasty...oops, disclaimer...I am not a medical professional, and my advice is not a medical opinion and I will not be held responsible for what comes out of my mouth, (or fingers) if you intend to follow my advice. 

Anyway, I would boost his Vit C and D3 and give him elderberrry, taking Umcka is also very good for the cold and flu, you can find this at a health food store.  Plenty of water and sleep.  If he will eat garlic, or if you can sneak it in that will help, for a cough you can try honey and lemom in some tea or I will put it in warmed apple juice for my kids when they are sick.

thMarried2MyBF.gif Married To My Best Friend image by luckylizziebeinformedvaxfree.gif Vax Free blinkie image by thirdtimecharmdeducated.gif Educated people question image by shadowkitty0602
ToddlerRides.gif rear facing image by awntkmesshomeschool2.gif homeschooling mom image by niccuinnsahm.gif sahm image by bubblegum109

Terri441
by on Nov. 20, 2009 at 2:55 PM

I'm not sure how old your son is but here is a link to the Dr Tenpenny info on Vit D
http://drtenpenny.com/VitaminD_info.aspx