Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New here and feeling...confused.

Posted by on May. 21, 2011 at 1:09 AM
  • 11 Replies
  • 333 Total Views

Hi everyone, forgive me if my questions are already answered somewhere else...I'm new to CafeMom and getting used to the layout.

A little back story of me and how I got here: 

A while ago, another forum that I'm a part of brought up EBF and the discussion led me to do a little more research which led me to drmomma.org. Well, THAT got me into looking at "alternatives" to the "norm" (FF, diapers, etc.). So that plus my friend suggesting this site led me HERE. I've been browsing through some posts when I can and some of the things I'm reading is just...mind boggling! I had NO IDEA about a lot of the truths behind vaccines (like some ingredients!) 

See, I have no children yet. DH and I are planning to have them in the next few years but right now with his job, our finances and some other factors...kids just don't "fit" right now. BUT I am the type to do ALL the research I can so I at least have a direction or an opinion to stand behind when the time comes (plus I'd like to not do all of this researching...b/c its turning out to be A LOT...in 9 mos). So here is my question to you ladies: What vaccines are given to kids from birth to...well idk how long? I talk to DH about all the info I find and until I can find more on vaccines, we have compromised to do selective/delayed vax. I'm sure I have a ton more questions but I'm extremely tired but also just HAD to ask! I'd ask a friend of mine but I know she's tired of me asking all these questions and since I've started this research, we don't really see eye to eye on what we want for our kids (my future; her son and unborn). She is VERY pro-vax...so I just don't think I'd get the info I'm looking for or if she'd even be able to answer my questions at all if I was to ask. :/