Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Family trying to guilt trip

Anyone have any experience with this? Like I said before, I am new to all of this, first time mom. I'm staying with my mom and sister currently, my husband is deployed. I feel very strongly about all of this & at first I had support... now that I've done my research & it's a definite no, I will not be vaccinating, it seems like my mom does not support it at all. And that's fine, I don't need anyone's approval to raise my child the way that I feel is right in my heart. But it makes me upset that someone, especially family, is going to speak with no knowledge of the 'other side' of what vaccines are and what they contain and then talk to me like I'm crazy.

I guess I'm going to need to get used to this fast. Atleast my husband understands... 

by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 3:24 PM
Replies (11-13):
starbuck75
by Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 4:51 PM
1 mom liked this

Well, you don't even have to discuss the issue with anyone if you don't want to.  My son was damaged by vaccine in March of 2001.  It was bad.  He lost all speech and wound up with a host of medical problems.  It has cost us a million dollars in lost wages and out of pocket expenses just to get him back to speaking and being high functioing, but his health is still a challenge.  He is thirteen now.  Today we are dealing with asthma AGAIN.  WE spent from October through December dealing with Fifth's disease, strep, and a rash that hasn't gone away yet.

Stand  your ground.  You're the one who has been wise enough to do your own reserach while others just want to be good little boys and girls and beleive whatever anyone else tells them to beleive.  I wish someonehad warned me.  My son lost his childhood.  His whole childhood has been a battle for health and a battle for a decent education.