• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Anxiety/fear of choosing not to vaccinate

Posted by on Mar. 8, 2013 at 12:32 AM
  • 13 Replies
  • 583 Total Views

So first off I just want to say how thankful I am for this group, and for all the support and advice I've been given since joining. You all know first hand how hard it can be, making a decision like this... believing in this decision for your child with your whole heart, as well as the criticism that may follow for it. I'm still new to all of this. This is my first child & I'm still young myself, and though I do know that I'm making the right decision by choosing not to vaccinate, there is a certain degree of anxiety/fear of what I might face for my decision. This has to be normal. I've seen a post here and there about fear of the pediatrician and well baby check ups, I've experienced this. But more than anything, I fear for my child's well being now. I'm continually learning and edcuating myself on this lifestyle & the precautions I need to take with him and his health... yet I still worry. Big family get togethers & flu season, and needing to know how to best protect him. And then there's thinking about when my husband and I decide to have another child-- I worry about the hospital situation. Making sure they don't twice inject my child with the hep b before he or she is even one month like they did with my first. Like I said, I know that this anxiety/fear has to be normal being a first time mom going through this. We are the minority and I understand that. I understand that there is going to be judgement from others and even from our own families, and that does not sway the way I feel about it. I just want to know if that goes away, or what I can do to become more confident when it comes to facing others or my child's doctor... when they're telling me I'm wrong and a horrible mother. I'm not doubting my decision at all, I ju