Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What state has the best child support laws (and enforces them)?

Posted by   + Show Post

Alright ladies I've heard all kinds of horror stories of states not doing what they should but let's put it to paper- where are the best and worst?  Where should the expecting mom move LOL (just kidding)!

California provides you with a lawyer when enforcing child support.  

They have on the books that they will take away a driver license and passport and if non-payment continues they can go to jail.  (Of course your case worker affects this- mine said she'd take the block off my ex if he paid even a small portion but I have a very crappy worker.)

They also have a law saying (paraphrasing here) that if a man has a good paying job and quits it or is fired his support cannot be lowered if he takes a lesser job.  (For example if a doctor quits and takes a job flipping burgers guess who is still paying big bucks?)

Sadly- child support is based off of how much custody each parent has (meaning- the dad's then file for visitation so they don't have to pay) and of course how much each parent makes.

There is a minimum for support for english speaking average joes- and that is based off minimum wage (in my area it's about $322 a month).

by on Dec. 16, 2009 at 9:58 PM
Replies (81-87):
vbway
by on Oct. 7, 2013 at 10:42 AM

I live in Louisiana. They have the same laws listed above.  But it can all come down to the judge. The process can be really slow.

The good thing about this state is that they set the basic child support amount per state guidelines and then add half of all other expenses, such as daycare, dance, private school etc. The NCP is also ordered to pay cs. Also, the mother usually gets to claim the kids. He would have to petition the court if he wanted to claim them. And even then, it would only be allowed if he has no arrears. Also many times the judge will only let him claim 1 child if there are 2. 

In Louisiana, amont of visitation does not affect child support for the most part. The only exception is if the NCP has the child 50% of the time. Then there is a reduction in support. 

The process can take about 2 years, it is slow. My order was in effect from the beginning but getting him to pay was the problem. But for most people once, everything is set up, it all runs smoothly. You will always have deadbeat that will play the system. My state is big on enforcement. But more delays happen when the NCP lives out of state as is my case. Now I am depending on a judge in Cali to enforce my order. I do know that they finally hauled him into court. He said he was working and the judge ordered a garnishment. They threatened him with jail time. I think I may start seeing some support soon. It has been 3 years and he is 25k behind. He is supposed to pay 745 per month plus 100 per month in arrears.  


Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Aug. 30, 2014 at 4:19 PM

.

eurobelle
by on Aug. 30, 2014 at 4:21 PM

Well I hate to burst your bubble, but CA does NOT give you a lawyer that represents you. It is a DCSS lawyer that does NOT have an attorney-client relationship and that you can not tell what to do.

Also if the father is self employed they do NOT do anything but flag his driver's license, or professional/occupational license (If you are lucky).They state that they put liens on property, but that only is on real estate. No cars, boats etc are ever confiscated. They will send the self employed father an order to withhold his own wages, but don't pursue any consequences as they do to employers that do not withhold wages from their employees. They, DCSS, do not intercept any income that comes into the business from a merchant account. Even when there is only one business president or owner and he comingles his funds from the business expenses and personal use.

They claim to have limited funds and don't seem to understand that they can save the taxpayers money by enforcing the order and therefor lowering or eliminating the need for government assistance such as food stamps.

It also depends on which county enforces the order. Rich counties like Orange County seem to be much more aggessive than overwhelmed counties like Los Angeles or San Diego County. DCSS CA is basically a joke when it comes to enforcing a CS order from self employed non-custodial parents (NCPs) and NCP's that work in transportation and keep having their driver's license release since they need it to make a living.

Lastly San Diego County, (and I don't know about other CA counties) does not have a good work release program to put unwilling self employed dead beats in.

LemmeKnow
by on Sep. 2, 2014 at 11:13 PM

My baby will be born in 7 weeks.  I could file for Child Support in IL or TX.  The Dad has a decent steady job that I doubt he would quit.   Any advice of where to file?

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Nov. 5, 2016 at 12:02 AM
Cali does not provide lawyers or have a min. Amount. You have to (both) submit basically an income statement and balance sheet. With income and expenses and assests. But they do almost automatically garnish wages even if they have a good history of paying in full on time least in my experience among the people I know. So that is good.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 3 on Nov. 5, 2016 at 12:23 AM
My uncle didn't pay his cs and Indiana suspended his license, put a lien on his car and his house. In sure he was behind by at least $30,000. Needless to say they took his tax returns until he got caught up.

Another guy I know put everything in his wife's name so they couldn't put a lien on the house or the car. But they got him anyway he started getting paychecks for $1.00. So he quit his job and they went after his wife. Once Indiana starts at you apparently they come at you full force from what I've seen
Anonymous
by Anonymous 4 on Nov. 14, 2016 at 11:45 AM
All depends. If my ex is late for any reason there is a penalty added. He has a city job though so I have no problem getting my cs and spousal support.

Quoting Jenn8604:

 Not Illinois, dont come near here. They say they will take the license of the dad for not paying child support. They dont. When they dont pay child support, cuz they quit their job to not pay, it is put in that they are in contempt of the court and have to keep a journal of what jobs they apply to and apply for a few a week. Thats all I know.

Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)