Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

can single mums survive without social welfare?????

Posted by   + Show Post

im linda, i live in ireland and im currently studying in college to get a career. i had my baby at 17 and im 23 now. i had to go on social welfare wen i had my son cause i couldnt support myself otherwise and am still on welfare now.

my question for all the other single parents is, is it possible to work, have a house and live comfortably and not be on welfare while doing it alone. im stressing the whole time thinking about will i be able to have a career and still maintain a family as a single parent.

are there mums on this that have careers and manage to survive???????????

by on Mar. 22, 2012 at 5:31 PM
Replies (11-20):
vbway
by Member on Mar. 22, 2012 at 5:54 PM
1 mom liked this

Glad that I could help. Just stay focused on your goals. Always be planning your next step, even if it is a small one. Good luck. 

Quoting xxbabigurlxx:

Quoting vbway:

I wouldn't say I am comfortable. I live mostly paycheck to paycheck. But I don't get any assistance and my ex does not pay his child support.....ever. I have a good job, I pay all my bills, put my girls in private school, dance, piano and sports. It's hard work, but it can be done. 

thanks!!! that gives me alot of inspiration...all the single parents i no are on welfare and i just dont want that...i want to be able to pay for my own things from my own money..im just constantly stressing about will i be able to do it but your story gives me hope

xxbabigurlxx
by Member on Mar. 22, 2012 at 5:56 PM

Quoting faerie75: