Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Help, I have two irresponsible adults influencing my son!!!

Posted by on May. 2, 2012 at 7:38 PM
  • 7 Replies

Hello all,

I'm new at this, but I needed an outlet to express my feelings. I already go to individual therapy but just can't get my emotions in check. My son just turned 5, his father and I have never been married and it's been about three years since we've broken up. The problem I am having now is with him and his new girlfriend. See, even when we were together he never gave his all with raising our son. Two years ago, he agreed to giving me primary physical custody and sole legal custody without so much as a flinch. Now with this new girlfriend in the picture, all of a sudden its a show to percieve himself as a good dad whose trying to be with his son. He gets to see him twice a week for a total of 10 hours. He does not give me child support because the last time I filed for it, they told me he did not make enough for them to do anything. I tried to make arrangements outside of court and his response was " for what"? Since he has been seeing our son now, I find out little things that are so annoying. For instance, his dad started to buy him clothes, but he keeps it at his girlfriend's house ( where he moved into and gives her rent money). That automatically made me flip. Then it was my son riding around with them without a booster seat. His girlfriend has continuously disrespected me and crossed the line, while my ex thinks its cute and thinks he can do whatever because of this new girl. The most recent problem happend while I was waiting for my son at our pick up and drop off spot, and of course his dad is always late. When they finally showed up, I got my son and when his dad went back to their car ( did I mention that his girlfriend is always there when we pick up and drop off) she blasted this song that was so inappropr