Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I Got a Job and Quit 15 minutes Later

Posted by   + Show Post

A lot of you probably saw my last post about how crazy expensive it is to rent a house out here. Well in my effort to help our money situation I got a job today, one which I quit 15 minutes later. Let me explain....

My bf works full time as a government contractor. He makes pretty decent money. I am a full time student and homemaker. Since I am a veteran I get paid a housing allowance for going to school, which is a nice chunk of change considering I am a student and not an employee anymore. With our situation with wanting a bigger house, but knowing our budget will hurt if we decide to pay more a month I decided I would get a summer job. DS will be gone to my parents' for the summer and I only have classes 2 nights a week. I figured I could get a job at a coffee place or somewhere that serves breakfast for a morning job to beef up our savings since we won't be able to put much into it after the move. Well I walk into Ihop today and ask if they need morning servers, the guy hires me on the spot. I was supposed to start training this afternoon. Well I text my bf to ask how he feels about me working there because I just got hired and he was NOT pleased. I hadn't told him I was going to look for a job because that was the first place I tried! He said I make more than enough with my housing allowance and he doesn't want me working somewhere like Ihop, or working at all unless it is a good job that is worth my time and effort. Of course he left it up to me, if I really wanted to I could, but he didn't like it. So needless to say I walked back in there 15 minutes later and told them I no longer could work there. I felt pretty foolish.

So can I put that I had a job for 15 minutes this year on my resume? Lol! A ridiculous post I know, but I felt pretty ridiculous!

by on May. 15, 2012 at 1:56 PM