Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Embarrassed: Food Stamps and Medicaid

Posted by on Jul. 5, 2012 at 10:49 AM
  • 127 Replies

Okay, I was laid off and decided to get some education.  Was getting an unemployment check which was cut off once I got my degree (which was stupid of them).  Now, I'm getting NO money, only a little child support money from child's father which don't even put a dent in my situation.  I've been trying to find work in my field and no one would hire me!  Now I had to result to being humiliated to get some DAMN FOOD STAMPS AND MEDICAID!  All you hear people talk about how people on Food Stamps and Medicaid are lazy!!  Not to mention this small town I'm in, so they see your every move!  I'm sooooooooooooooo f'ckn embarrassed!   Goes back to the previous post: AM I BITTER?? HELL TO THE YEAH!!!

by on Jul. 5, 2012 at 10:49 AM
Replies (1-10):
DDDaysh
by Silver Member on Jul. 5, 2012 at 11:54 AM

Well, have you tried looking for a job outside of your field? 

When DS's dad first bailed, I couldn't find anything in my field either, but I took jobs that paid next to nothing (seriously, the first one was actually below minimum wage if you counted all the hours I had to work for the daily wage) and worked up from there.  It barely covered daycare and I had to get WIC to be able to afford formula and medicaid so my son could see a doctor.  But, I kept the momentum up and was able to land a job that paid a little better with benefits, and just kept going from there. 

happymommy1105
by Gold Member on Jul. 5, 2012 at 12:03 PM
I'm confused.

I don't understand how it was stupid of them to cut off your unemployment. You knew that was going to happen on graduation. You should have been prepared for that.

You need to find a job, maybe not a career but a job to stay afloat while you find a career.

I don't understand what you are bitter about.