Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Financial aid question

Posted by on Sep. 21, 2012 at 8:36 PM
  • 34 Replies
I've seen on cafemom a few posts about financial aid paying living expenses. How does that work? I would love to become a nurse. I'm currently working 2 jobs just to pay the bills, put gas in the car and feed myself and my 4 kids. There's nothing left over at the end of the month. I'd be willing to still work one job while going to school if I thoght fa would cover the rest. Another thing fa is one of my bills already.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Sep. 21, 2012 at 8:36 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
ladybugmom2010
by Joy on Sep. 21, 2012 at 8:39 PM
I also would like to know!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
dragonfly.1982
by on Sep. 21, 2012 at 9:56 PM
Im a full time student and fa alone wont pay for school and living. This semester Im taking 3 classes bought books ($427) and got a fa refund of 243 bucks. People that live off fa tend to get students loans as well. There are student loans everyone qualify for and a person can get about 10grand a year and dont pay back till 6 months after graduation. Thats all I know if someone knows different Id sure like to know as well.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
shudderette
by on Sep. 21, 2012 at 9:58 PM
1 mom liked this
Yeah, those are probably getting loans as well. I've always gotten enough fa to pay fees and books and that's about it.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
dragonfly.1982
by on Sep. 21, 2012 at 9:59 PM
You can go to fasfa.com fill out the online form and see how much of a pell grant you qualify for. Pell never has to be paid back. Single mom 1 kid full time I get about 5grand a year.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
queensweet
by on Sep. 21, 2012 at 10:10 PM