Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

hi, i'm new to this single mom thing...really need support right now

Posted by on Nov. 13, 2012 at 10:19 AM
  • 9 Replies

hi everyone, i'm angie. i'm 31 and just recently split with my husband of almost 10 years. we have four kids who are 12, 10, 8, and 3. the split was a long time coming, my husband is an addict-prescription painkillers. i've tried to work with him on this issue-but things just continually got worse. i finally got up enough nerve to ask him to leave-which he did-fairly peacefully too.

so, here i am trying to juggle work, school, and kids and while i'm truly happy with my decision-i'm overwhelmed. i feel as if a weight has been lifted off of my shoulders. right now, i don't have any plans of getting back together with him, but he feels differently. he calls me all day long-and texts when he isn't calling. he says he's getting help to get clean and he'll be back for me and the kids. i tell him that i don't want that right now, but he keeps bringing it up. i've told him i can't promise him anything, and honestly right now i don't even love him.

i've tried telling him i need space and that when he calls to talk to the kids i won't talk to him, but as soon as he gets our daughter on the phone he asks her to put me on. i don't want to put my daughter in the middle of it so i reluctanly get on the phone, where i end up feeling bad about myself and my decision once i finally hang up with him.

i have amazing friends and family who have stepped up to help me with the kids and my housework while i get our new life routine settled, but i still feel overwhelmed. and, at night, i feel so lonely. how do i process all of these feelings? any support or advice is greatly appreciated!

by on Nov. 13, 2012 at 10:19 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
PaperClip811