Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Child custody for young mom who's never experienced it

Posted by on Nov. 29, 2012 at 4:17 PM
  • 10 Replies

I'm a young mom who's going through an ugly custody/visitation order. This is my first child, and I've never done court hearings before.  I feel like this whole situatuion has just torn me apart. I can't seem to stop being emotional. The current order has my son going to dads every weekend, which I feel is unsuccessful, I work 40+ hours a week and my only days off are weekends, which is when our son is in dads care. I set a motion to get him every other weekend, and dad refuses and would like more time with our son. I feel I never have leisure time with our son, and now that hes requesting more days has added more stress. I don't know what to do, or how to represent myself in a way to show the judge it's best for our son. My other party sometimes fails to come on some weekends or he leaves our child with grandma so he can go be young and "party." I dont know what to do or say to ask for the respectable visitation time with son without making it seem like I'm being spiteful. If he's asking for more time with our son isnt it a little silly when he constantly goes out...?? PLEASE HELPPPP!!!!!!!   =(

by on Nov. 29, 2012 at 4:17 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
raeann1984
by on Nov. 29, 2012 at 4:31 PM
2 moms liked this

i don't think its spiteful at all for you to ask for every other weekend visits and if would like more time have him pick up a weekday or two to give you time to relax. it's hard to be a mom and work full time and its honestly not fair that if weekends are your only time off you are not getting to spend some of them with your child!!

steviechick
by Gold Member on Nov. 29, 2012 at 4:35 PM