Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Job...

Posted by on Jan. 12, 2013 at 7:37 PM
  • 14 Replies

I've been separated from my husband for almost a year and a half now.  Before my daughter (age 4) was born I was an IT Tech in Southern Cali.  When I was 8 months prego we moved to WA so that I could take care of my grandmother, she passed away then for about 6 months I was a stay-at-home mom till the separation.  I know have been working at Subway, making barely over minimum wage.  I've been looking for other work, but even though I've put in over 50 job applications I haven't got one call back.

To top this off I have state daycare that is only Mon-Fri from 7-5:30 and no parents or grandparents or really anyone to help watch my daughter.  He dad takes her 2 days a week, but I never know when till a couple days before, and it's usually a Weds-Thurs or Tues-Weds or something like that.

Anyways my question, does anyone have any advice on how I can find a better job with good hours.  One that I can actually support my daughter and me on???

by on Jan. 12, 2013 at 7:37 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
brieri
by Platinum Member on Jan. 12, 2013 at 7:39 PM

welcomehave a nice weekend 

LifeCafe42
by Nora on Jan. 12, 2013 at 10:46 PM
Welcome keep applying try temp agencies that's where I got my start
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
mytrueloveS
by on Jan. 13, 2013 at 1:41 AM

I don't know, I started my own business for that same reason.  I have my own hours now.  Try a bank teller? 

shudderette
by on Jan. 13, 2013 at 2:41 AM
2 moms liked this

idk, got the same problem. if you figure it out let me know :)

Ridingsolo
by Bronze Member on Jan. 13, 2013 at 6:52 AM

Do you have any sales experience?  Commission based jobs can be good. 

Are you getting child support?  If not, you should be!