Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Divorce and changing last names

Posted by   + Show Post
I'm filling out my divorce papers, we are filing a joint petition for divorce. We have two kids, a 5 year old girl and a 3 year old boy. I'm trying to decide I I want to change my last name... Can I get some opinions?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 11:04 PM
Replies (11-18):
steviechick
by Gold Member on Jan. 21, 2013 at 11:05 AM

I didn't change my last name.  I never did like my initials when I was single.  It was easier to keep the ex's last name for business cards and everyone else knows me by my ex's last name.  My DD has the same last name.  I've been using this last name for 26 years.  Kinda weird to change it to my maiden name. 

breebree04
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 11:14 AM

I kept my married name. I didnt wanna go through the hassle of notifying everyone of my name change when more than likely I will remarry again some day and then Id have to do it all over again. I figure for now I will keep the same last name as my children and change it later on down the road if I remarry.

victoriahearts
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 1:53 PM

I kept my last name because my son's last name was my married name, it makes for less drama when dealing with school, doctor's and so on.

Sj218
by Member on Jan. 21, 2013 at 1:58 PM
I kept my married name and it had very little to with keeping it the same as our child. I've been married my whole adult life. We were together for nearly 13 years. That last name is just as much mine as it is my stbxs. All of my professional contacts as well a friends know me by that name, going back to my maiden name would feel like going back to high school. Just my opinion, but different than most other replies.
kidlover2
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 2:00 PM