Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

TAXES

Posted by on Jan. 27, 2013 at 4:27 PM
  • 10 Replies

Curious if you ladies have a general answer for me.

My boyfriend and I are getting very serious. I'm a student living off school loans because my school work suffers while I work and I come up short for bills after paying for child care for my one child. 

Now I know taxes varie. But do you think it would be better for tax purposes to get married or not? We live in Oregon and he is unemployed at the moment but I'm sure that won't be for much longer.

Well here's another question too lol. Do you think it would be better if he went back to school too or got a job? He generally only makes $10-13/hr when working.

by on Jan. 27, 2013 at 4:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
ckmom2013
by on Jan. 27, 2013 at 4:34 PM
A job! I think going back to school is useless these days unlesd you are working while in school. Idk about the marraige part though.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
grneyedormom
by Kendra on Jan. 27, 2013 at 4:37 PM
1 mom liked this

It really depends, I'm in Oregon as well. Long term, having some sort of post high school education is a really good thing to have, even if it's a certificate or an Associate's degree. I think it's also possible to work and go to school at the same time. Making the sacrifice now for the future is sometimes necessary. I did it as a single parent, paying daycare and running a household. Tax wise, I can't really answer that, only a tax professional can, and it won't affect your taxes (positively or negatively) until you file for 2013 (if you get married this year). :)

Proud Momma to one fabulous 4th grader.

wearing crowngirl giving flower

conniejo75
by Bronze Member on Jan. 27, 2013 at 5:06 PM