Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Am I Crazy? Kids, work, school, life......

Posted by on Feb. 10, 2013 at 5:59 PM
  • 7 Replies
Hello. I am a 33 year old single mom of two boys. I have a 9 year old and a 7 month old. I currently work in the legal field but I have a strong desire to be in healthcare. I work Monday-Friday from 8am-5pm. The only real way to get into the field I want to be in is to go back to school. I found a program near my house but class is from 6pm-10pm Monday-Friday. I have always believed that people should do what they love for a living and I love people. I am so motivated and determined to make my dre come true. BUT..... Is it wrong for me to leave my boys to work on my education/career? I'm not getting any younger but I worry that I will miss out of seeing them grow. One positive is that it is only a 10 month program. But still. It breaks my heart to think about not seeing them but for a few hours every morning and on weekends. But it also breaks my heart to give up on my career and settle for what I am doing now.

Any suggestions? Any thoughts? Any moms ever been in this situation? If so, what did you chose to do and are you ok with your decision?

Thank you in advance for any and all replies!!
by on Feb. 10, 2013 at 5:59 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
singlemama0905
by on Feb. 10, 2013 at 6:02 PM
2 moms liked this
After I had my son I had to work 70+ hours a week so I rarely saw him. Personally, I'd hold off some. I don't have many regrets in my life, but I really regret having to work so much and missing so much of my son's life. I can never get that time back. Plus I was soo exhausted when I did have free time that it was almost inpossible to really relax and enjoy time with him.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
kathyw904
by on Feb. 10, 2013 at 6:08 PM