Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Putting in my 2 week notice. Advice?

Posted by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 7:11 PM
  • 18 Replies

So I have 2 jobs. One I work overnight from 9pm to 6am and then the other job I work from either 7 or 8am until 3:30pm. So I get about 3 or 4 hours of a sleep a day. Even though my day job is working from home for a call center, after working all night at my one job I'm exhausted. I don't know if I actually will or whether I'll just suck it up but I'm wearing thin.

I'm thinking about putting in my 2 week notice at my overnight job. They went from giving me 2 or 3 weeks off to putting me on the schedule 40 hours a week for the next 3 weeks. I have no time to myself or for my son anymore. Any advice on how to put it in? I have never given a job a 2 week notice before. Usually something jumps off and I just walk out and don't go back lol

I like this job though so I don't want to do them like that. So... Any advice on how to submit my 2 week notice? Thanks ladies.

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 7:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
conniejo75
by Bronze Member on Feb. 15, 2013 at 7:17 PM
Basically just tell them the reason and last date you intend to work. Fyi... a lot of employers will let you go immediately instead of waiting out 2 weeks
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
GoldenLinds
by Member on Feb. 15, 2013 at 7:21 PM
Write a letter. Make sure you tell them you've appreciated the opportunity. If you feel its necessary state your reason for leaving. Tell them you hope that if things change in the future that you could return. And of course clearly state your last day. Personally I prefer a little more than 2 weeks notice. If you are friendly with your boss then just go in and sit down and tell them what's going on but have a letter too.