Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

How do you afford to be a single mom?

Posted by on Feb. 26, 2013 at 9:38 PM
  • 45 Replies

Hello there ladies! :) I'm new around here but not to being a single mom. I've been married for almost 10 years and my husband now wants nothing to do with me. He has dicided that he no longer wants to "family life" 

I came into the marriage with my now 11 and 14 year olds. Since we married he has been the main bread winner. He makes a bit more then 80,000 a year to my almost 16,000 a year. I work as a teacher assistant and have been for the past 5 year and I LOVE my job. We both loved it because I would be home with the boys when they were home and did not work summers. It worked out. 

Well it appears that I am now at a huge disatvantige. I'm not sure what to do.  My boys have never recived child support because me and my husband had both agreed that we didn't need the help. It was more of a hassle. 

So, now I make 1,200 a month with no child support and two boys. How will I be able to afford to live on our own? Cheapest place I've been able to find is around 8

$800 and it does not include anything. I would still have to account for bills and food. How do you ladies do it? Right now we are still living in the same house. He says that we can live together as long as I need so I can figure out what I'm going to do (so nice of him I know) but I can't see myself being here much longer. I need to move on but don't know how I will be able to do it. Even if I get a second job it will be super tight and will never get to see my boys. Don't get me wrong, if that's what I have to do then that's what will get done. Have not had much luck though finding something after 5pm and weekends olny. 

I need advice ladies!

by on Feb. 26, 2013 at 9:38 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Mommyto2LilMen