Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

First Post: Let me introduce myself while still getting over the shock..

Posted by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 2:11 AM
  • 9 Replies
This is my first time on Cafemom, so let me introduce myself..
My name is Carolina, I am a Chicago girl and a few weeks ago, I learned that I am pregnant (9 weeks now) with my first child at 20 years old.
Now this pregnancy was completely unexpected. I have been on birth control for several years now and in addition, due to unexpected medical attention I had been told that I would not be able to have children.
As you guessed it, I'm definitely in shock even after 9 pregnancy tests, 1 blood test, and several doctors confirmations. (still waiting on an ultrasound- seeing is believing!)
Now I'm quite scared because this will be my first and because I am so young, so please experienced mothers..
Any advice for a young first-time expectant mother?
Anything helps :)

Sincerely,
One who is just trying to figure it out..
Carolina

P.S. Look forward to meeting you Ladies.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 2:11 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
breebree04
by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 10:24 AM

Hello Carolina and Welcome to the group. Im sure this pregnancy is scary for you especially since it was not planned but everything will work out and be fine. I had my first child at 20 also. Its an adjustment at first but it wont take long for you to get the hang of things and adjust. If you have any questions or concerns about the pregnancy just ask your dr, thats what they are there for. Its hard to give you advice on the pregnancy because you are not very far along yet and everyone is different. Just know that you can do this and everything will be fine.

welcome to cafemom

steviechick
by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 10:49 AM