Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single mom who is TERRIFIED in PA.

Posted by on Mar. 16, 2013 at 8:56 PM
  • 9 Replies

Good evening fellow moms..  Im a newbie here and hopefully I can find some advice.  I'm the single mother of a beautiful and smart 4-year-old.  I left her dad who i have been married to for five years thanks to my mother and sister.  Background history:  I lost my dad in 2010 at the age of 57 due to emphysema.  My daughter was only 6 months old when he died but she was her grandpas girl.   While my daddy was sick, my husband told my dad that he should have no worries and that he and I would make sure my mom and sister were taken care of.... being that neither one of them drive for health reasons.  I have always taken them wherever they needed to go.. doctors appointments, grocery shopping, or just the much needed girls day out shoppiing.  Meanwhile, mind you, my mom and sister provided free daycare for us.  I work from home anyways and he.. well is a work if he feels like it kind of guy.  my mom and sister, who we moved next door to when my daddy got reallly sick to help out... would be over at the house for me at 8 a.m. to watch my little girl so i could work until about 4:30 p.m.   My husband would come home, not even want dinner and i had to call my mom back to come watch my daughter so we could go to the bar and close it down.  Im hardly a drinker but i complied because you have to know him.. you dont tell him no.  For five years of marriage, I sugar coated and lied through every aspect when peoplel in my family would talk bad about him.. the people who truly saw the abuse I was suffering inside verbally from him.  Why???  Because I was absolutely terrifed to stand up.  When my daughter was born, i got the story from his sister and his mother.. which oh my are drinkers too, his sister bartends.. about how theyd be there for us and to babysit, etc.   Yeah... that lasted..