Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Co parent is mad about financial supporting our son

Posted by on Mar. 26, 2013 at 1:20 PM
  • 12 Replies
I am new to this blog. I recently got a called from child support to do an intake and me and my Co parent share joint custody. We work effectively to raise our son but when it comes to finances I pay for a majority of our son s expenses. I wanted to know if you can receive child support if you have joint custody visit?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 26, 2013 at 1:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Bookoholic
by Bronze Member on Mar. 26, 2013 at 1:24 PM
Yes, if you spend most of the expense's on your Ds.
curly287
by Member on Mar. 26, 2013 at 1:33 PM

I pay for almost all of my daughters expenses and I pay child support. My ex husband has not worked in about 4 years now...he filed for welfare and the county went after me for support. I don't pay as much as they wanted me to because I saved all of my receipts and documented all the expenses including child care. Be careful...it could come back to haunt you!

steviechick
by Gold Member on Mar. 26, 2013 at 2:40 PM

Here's a bump for you! 

Oliviasmom72
by Bronze Member on Mar. 26, 2013 at 2:44 PM

You can but it is based on income. If your income is the same and he has 50% parenting time he may not have to pay anything. It really all depends on the state guidelines. If he makes more than you, and he covers the kid on insurance he may receive a credit for that and again may not owe much. all the state guidelines are different. Expenses is a loose term. all the guielines really care  about is income, day care expense if there is any and who is covering the child on health insurance.

Oliviasmom72
by Bronze Member on Mar. 26, 2013 at 2:47 PM