Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Foreclosure questions

Posted by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 3:55 PM
  • 20 Replies

My ex and I own a house.  When we split up, i stayed in the house because I have the kids almost all the time.  We put it up for sale but its been two years and no sale.  The market is just BAD here.  Im making the house payments myself since I live there.  But in the divorce it says when it sells, we get to split the profit.  I dont think thats fair (i must have been drugged when I agreed to it) because ive been paying it alone for 2 years now, I think I should get more than half but whatever.  Point being: i cant afford this place.  The payment, the utilities, the upkeep, its draining me SO SO bad.  Ive offered to move out and let ex and his gf move it, two incomes paying on it would be better than mine alone.  He refused.  I guess it was good enough for her to come play house in with him while I was in the hospital, but not good enough for her to live in.  Whatever. Anyway, i want and NEED to move out into a smaller cheaper place.  I go back and forth on just adandoning it and leaving, letting the bank forclose on it.  Has anyone done this?  What all happens?  Do I call the bank and tell them what I am doing?  Can they sue me for the money?  What happens??  At this point, I dont even want the money from a potential sale, I just want OUT.  

by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 3:55 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
amonkeymom
by Gold Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 4:12 PM

Have you told your ex that you are considering abandoning the house and letting it go into foreclosure?  He may change his tune in that case since it will affect his credit as well as yours.

Have you considered filing bankruptcy?

Stephd710
by Silver Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 4:17 PM