Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

OCD-Intrusive Thoughts

Posted by on Apr. 30, 2013 at 2:17 PM
  • 8 Replies

Hello All.

My daughter is 8 months old this week and I have had intrusive thoughts before she was even born. Before she was even conceived!

The thoughts used to be related to my parents and the stress I incurred with them. Example: cleaning the house a couple hours each week, attending school for my Associates (even though I have my Bachelor's), and dating an abusive and selfish man.

Now, the thoughts revolve around my daughter. I see a LPC and a Psychiatrist twice a month and am on a consistent and helpful medicine. I take this medicine once at night and it not only helps with sleep, but managing stress and OCD like behaviors. (Which are constantly needing to clean and keep things organized-not repetitions just daily obsessions).

My therapist has suggested reseraching OCD-intrusive thoughts on the web and possibly finding a "joke" to myself when I have the thought. I came up with "shes not a baked potato," when I think horrible things such as putting her in the microwave or the oven.

I am a single mother and live about 5 miles from my parents and 15 miles from great family and friends. I have a great support network and can rely on more people than I need!

I just want to know....AM I CRAZY??? DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE THESE THOUGHTS? They are soo terrifying and destructive, I feel horrible. I feel better with the medication, but when I ask friends or family if they have experienced these thoughts-all I get is strange looks and "no way!" .....just need to know I'm not the only one suffering with this decreptive disease.

by on Apr. 30, 2013 at 2:17 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
brieri
by Platinum Member on Apr. 30, 2013 at 2:33 PM