Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

New Single Mom of Five

Posted by on May. 12, 2013 at 7:30 PM
  • 10 Replies

Hello, everyone!  I'm a young mother of five, my youngest being 3 months old, and I find myself in a completely unforseen situation...that of being a single mom!

When I was seven months pregnant with my fifth, I discovered that my husband was sexually abusing my oldest child and my world just came crashing down around me.  It was a devestating shock.  My husband was a deeply devout Catholic and a well respected professional.  We had (what I thought) was as close to the ideal life you could have here this side of the veil.  I never had any idea this abuse was happening.

We were married straight out of college (from 2004-2013) and we started our family right away.  I have an ENG degree but no work experience and no idea what working outside of the home even remotely looks like.  The child support we're recieving isn't enough to live on (the jerk!) and we've lost our home.  My aunt and uncle have been kind enough to take us in until the fall.  I'm hundreds of miles away from all of my friends and feel so alone.

We're still very much in the thick of things regarding the legal side of this situation...there's an investigation and I pray they find enough to formal charge the sick sob.

New state, new state in life and I don't even know where to begin to start putting the pieces back together.  Has anyone else ever been through something like this before?  And if so, can you tell me what you did to rise above the ashes?  Any help would be very much appreciated!

Thank you!

by on May. 12, 2013 at 7:30 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Bookoholic
by Bronze Member on May. 12, 2013 at 7:38 PM