Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Being forced to quit my job? Advice/Options?? **PIOG**

Posted by on Jul. 23, 2013 at 3:40 PM
  • 13 Replies

As some of you may know I work from home for a dental insurance company. I have been working for them since the 7th Jan 2013 so not long. I believe I have been doing a decent job, I'm not the top worker but I know my way around the systems and can help callers with most issues.

About 2 weeks ago I tried to log in but got an error message saying the webpage cannot be displayed and without this page I can't log into anything or get paid. I let my boss know via email and then I also spoke to another higher up and asked if anything changed and she confirmed a security update had taken place overnight.

I have been going back and forth with my boss about this as well as my ISP and my job's help desk to no avail. My boss and the HD tech appointed to help me all say the issue is on my side as far as connectivity BUT I have never had this issue before the security update.

The tech asked me to order a new router (money that comes outta my pocket) so I just spent almost an hour and a half on the phone with my ISP tech, did that and installed and set it up and I'm still getting the error message.

The only reason they don't want to take responsibility for it is because they would have to pay me tech pay which is basically paying me for work I missed due to an error on THEIR end and that would amount to almost 2 weeks of tech pay.

What else can I do? Since I am being forced to quit can I file for unemployment? IDK what else to do.

by on Jul. 23, 2013 at 3:40 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
v2011
by on Jul. 23, 2013 at 4:23 PM