Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Meeting BF's Mother for the first time!

Posted by on Jan. 9, 2014 at 12:10 AM
  • 10 Replies
Hello mommies, well basically I've been dating this guy. Things are getting pretty serious, he has met my daughter and my family. And now it's my turn to meet his....and from what I heard his mother is pretty tough. This is my first time ever dating ever since I had my daughter. He does not have any kids. He has not told her anything about me because she wanted to meet me in person and be the judge. Anyway, my question is would it be better for him to tell his mother that I'm a mother too or should I tell her myself and how? Need your advice!
by on Jan. 9, 2014 at 12:10 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
toughmommy
by Member on Jan. 9, 2014 at 1:19 AM
I think he should have told his mom already and you should not have to feel like you have to hide that aspect of you at all. Either way he seems to like you and enough to introduce you, that's the important part... so be proud of everything that you are,if your really nervous about it, I would discuss it with him before hand so it doesn't come up in some awkward way. Good Luck!
Saurusmom8
by on Jan. 9, 2014 at 2:15 AM
No shame that you are a mommy!! How he reacts if she demeans you is crucial. Just tell her and be proud. I would bring pictures of your beautiful child and share stories of motherhood!! If you being a single mom puts you on some chopping block then that's her problem. He obviously likes you and chances are the beautiful mom in you is what makes you more beautiful to him.

If I knew then what I know now I would have focused less on her opinion and more on the good and how much I loved her son. It really showed me how I don't want to be that mom when my son brings home a woman he is proud of.