Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Moms Single Moms

Dealing with a step mom

Posted by on Mar. 17, 2014 at 7:33 PM
  • 21 Replies

My ex left me and was married 4 months later with another baby on the way. He and his wife have taught my daughter that she is her mom and encourage her to call her that. They do things with her that I should be doing and have flat out told me that they don't give a damn what i think or want. I have also been told many times that she is a better mom and I should not be able to be around her. I have no idea what to do because the houses are so different and I feel they are trying to get her to no like me anymore. I am a full time student so duringthe week i am busy and he has her almost every weekend. I don't have that quality time that i feel he does and I fear my daughter is going to hate me for this. I want more weekend time but I have no idea what i can do to get that time that i feel we need to work on our bond as mother and daughter.  As she gets older I feel this is all taking a toll on her and I feel so bad for that. I just don't know what to do anymore? They don't care what I want and it seems like they have no interest in trying to make things better for my daughter. There are a million more questions i have and could use advice on but we would be here all night long.

by on Mar. 17, 2014 at 7:33 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
virginiamama71
by Carrie on Mar. 17, 2014 at 7:39 PM

This is heartbreaking. we are only given one Mother, never can another take that from us.

Can you take some time from school? Maybe go parttime so you can give more time to your daughter.

true10ve
by on Mar. 17, 2014 at 8:19 PM
2 moms liked this