Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

custody of my sisters child.

Posted by on Jul. 30, 2014 at 5:59 PM
  • 14 Replies
2 moms liked this
So, im not even entirely sure I belong in this thread...but ive been raising my 16 month old nephew since he was 3 months old. This is my sisters third child, she lost custody of the first two before they were both a year old. She's been battling a drug addiction since she was 13 (15 years!) So when I found out she was pregnant, I knew it would be my responsibility to make sure he had a decent life. When he was 3 months I allowed my sister and him to move into my one bedroom apartment so I could help my sister get clean and be a good mom to him. It was a constant battle for 7 months before I finally told her she had to go. She would leave the baby with me the majority of the time, but would randomly want to be a "mom" and take him. There were a lot of situations she put her and him in that made me very uncomfortable. I finally went down to the judge and he signed me over temporary custody right away. This is when the real battle began. We went through court for months and the judge ended up giving me full custody with the chance for her to get a one hour a week visit with him. She shows up for her visit but is almost always late or cuts out early. She was high the last time she was here and I told her to leave. My problem is that I just wish she would stop coming around. Until she gets her life on track. Is that wrong of me? I take care of him by myself 24/7. This is honestly the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. I never thought id be a single parent, let alone of a child who isnt mine. Dont get me wrong, hes my entire world and I couldnt love without him. I 100% consider him my child and couldnt imagine loving anyone more. But its difficult not having many people to relate to. I know in my heart I will have him his whole life, and im perfectly okay with