Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

As a single mom how do you

Posted by   + Show Post
Stay afloat? It’s hard being a single mom especially when it’s just you and only one income, no child support (long story), and very limited babysitters. What kind of jobs do you all do? Do you think you have a good work:life balance?

Me personally I work at a gas station. It’s not ideal, I keep getting scheduled out of my availability and honestly I don’t make enough money. I still live at home with mom with my ds. How do you guys make it work? Sometimes I go days with only seeing my ds long enough to get him ready and off to school in the morning.
by on Dec. 15, 2017 at 12:46 AM
Replies (11-20):
lyzzefrago
by Member on Dec. 19, 2017 at 1:24 AM

I haven't given birth yet so I'm technically not a real "single mom" for another 5 months but since I already have my plan in place I do feel like I can comment. I work as a nanny and a dog sitter and even though I'm not going to be taking any new clients or clients I don't like after the new year I do have some pet clients that I trust to have me bring my babies over when I sit their dog and I get paid REALLY well for it. For my nanny job it's the perfect job because exactly as others said i'll be able to bring the babies with me. I've been taking care of the same kids for 4 years so it's very important to me to stay with them and they also pay me super well, buy me dinner sometimes, give me christmas and birthday gifts, they're just SO generous on top of just being really cool people. I have a little bit of a break because I live with my parents so living expenses are covered for me but I do still have bills like my dogs pet health insurance, my car insurance, my car payment etc. and trust me it adds up and can be stressful so having a job that has allowed me to pay everything and go to school has been amazing. I do plan on continuing to finish my bachelors next fal