Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Not sure how to handle this

Posted by on Sep. 10, 2012 at 7:05 AM
  • 16 Replies

My manager and I are quite different in our styles of doing things. Over the last few months she has been taking away my responsibilities. I want to move up in this career and I've been looking for oppurtunities to prove myself, but I haven't had any chances to do so. She went out of town this weekend and today and tomorrow. But instead of letting me do the reports, which I use to do, she is doing them herself. I have to call her and give her the info. She is going out of town again in October. I want to show her that I am capable of handling things while she is away, just has I have done in the past. I'm not sure what has happened for her to change things on me. Is this something I should discuss with her, or do I just go along with her wishes? I'm new to the professional world.

by on Sep. 10, 2012 at 7:05 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
leahbeah143
by Leah on Sep. 10, 2012 at 10:07 AM

I would ask her about it. Or next time she leaves, just say "don't worry about those reports I can take care of them".

the3Rs
by Platinum Member on Sep. 10, 2012 at 10:21 AM
3 moms liked this

Agree.  Communication is key.  Whenever I felt as though I wasn't being given enough responsibilities or I wanted more in order to move up the ranks, I always scheduled a short (1/2 hour) call/meeting with my manager.  I explained my desire to advance, demonstrated my success so far, and asked if she could suggest ways for me to have greater responsibility.  Worked great every time - though now I think I have TOO much!  LOL

It's *possible* that she feels that if she doesn't do these things then SHE is not doing all that is expected of her, etc.  Maybe it's part of her job description and her own review from HER manager?