Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Politics in the workplace

Posted by on Oct. 4, 2012 at 10:20 AM
  • 14 Replies

Do you think people should discuss politics in the workplace?  After the debate, there are a few people wanting to discuss nearly everything.  I know that I disagree with a lot of what these people think, so I keep my mouth shut.  But I think the office should be a politics free zone.  I wish people would keep their opinions to themselves like I do, at least at work.  Outside of work, I don't care how they feel of what they discuss.

by on Oct. 4, 2012 at 10:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
leahbeah143
by Leah on Oct. 4, 2012 at 10:29 AM

some people might discuss politics here at work, but it sure isn't me lol

annasmom1234
by on Oct. 4, 2012 at 10:35 AM

I agree, but I work as a govt. contractor, so we are encouraged to vote, but not to talk about politics.

mickstinator
by on Oct. 4, 2012 at 10:46 AM

My boss is a major Romney fan. He has a sticker on his (fancy sports) car and is ALWAYS watching Fox News during our meetings. I play along with him since he's my boss, but I'm very close-lipped about my own feelings. I do not want to start that conversation, especially with the people I am forced to work with. I like them now. Let's not throw a wrench in teh mix.

Nighttiger
by Ashley on Oct. 4, 2012 at 11:29 AM

My boss is the same way, although I think he tones it down a bit around me now. We were in a meeting about 2 years ago where he proudly said the amount your vote counts in the elections should be based on your income level. He also very much hates gay people, although he seems to back down from that when I'm around. We don't talk politics. 

Quoting mickstinator: