Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms
Are you doing what you love?? When I was a teacher I definitely wasn't. I just don't like teaching & never really wanted to be one.

My current career is nothing I could have imagined but I do enjoy it & I love the company I work for. But...it still feels like "work", you know?

I read somewhere that if you can earn a living with your passion it doesn't feel like "work", you can't wait to start the day, etc.

But I don't really know what my passion would be. I wanted to perform...but I auditioned for the Chicago Symphony & didn't make it, & I live in a rural area now with no performing opportunities. I think I'd love to play regularly in the pit for a broadway show, but that dream won't happen. And I honestly can't think of anything I "love". Pretty pathetic, huh?

So how about you? Are you doing what you love? If so, what do you do? If not, what is your passion?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Oct. 7, 2012 at 9:42 AM
Replies (11-20):
MansfieldMama
by Angela on Oct. 7, 2012 at 3:59 PM

Yes, I teach AP English and love it!  I've had difficult years where I didn't enjoy teaching as much, but I still felt like I was doing what I needed to be doing.  This year is a particularly good year.  :)

leahbeah143
by Leah on Oct. 7, 2012 at 7:31 PM

I like my job ok, and the company I work for is great, but it's definitely not my passion. I do love to craft and garden, so a job doing either of those would be awesome.

mickstinator
by on Oct. 7, 2012 at 7:37 PM
I have a decent, likeable job, but it is not what I love.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
cjsmom1
by Platinum Member on Oct. 7, 2012 at 8:13 PM

None of my jobs are my passion. I think I would love to be a pediatric physical therapist, but it will never happen. I have no desire to get a PhD

4healthyeats
by on Oct. 7, 2012 at 8:17 PM

exactly just missing the family time.

Quoting deccaf: