Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

can I vent about missing comp by $13??

Posted by on Oct. 10, 2012 at 3:22 PM
  • 13 Replies

I am a manager  and so of course driving sales is a huge priority.  Yesterday we did 118% to plan but missed comp by $13 (comp is our last year number and therefore pretty important).

I felt really bad about falling short only $13! And normally I would have just bought something myself, but I was sick on monday and missed work and had to go to the DR and get Rx meds so after that money is tight.

So my DM has e-mailed me twice already trying to figure out what I "should have done better" to get the money in.  stayed open longer? (uh, at 9pm when we close there were zero people in the store, so you want me to waste payroll on zero dollars in sales???)

I'm super annoyed because for the week so far we are up nearly $3000 to comp, so $13 in the grand scheme of things is nothing!

on top of that, when I went in yesterday we were down on our day by $200 and I busted my butt and dealt with some really rude customers to bring in $600 my first hour, making up for our deficit for the day.  then with my next 2 hours I managed to put us up by over $200 because I knew the evening would be dead.  I also brought the ADS up to over $32.  She always talks about controlling our controllables and that's exactly what I did. I couldn'thelp that only about 6 people came into the store the last hour and a half, one of them was an even exchange for a damaged handbag, one bought a $14 necklace, and then 2 ladies were getting door prizes for their ministy group and were on a $30 budget!  I mean, we helped them find some really cute stuff for $30 but I can't control that they literally couldn't spend more than that!