Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Ever went back to college to further your career or to start a new one?

Posted by on Dec. 6, 2012 at 1:44 AM
  • 11 Replies

I have my Bachelors degree and am just not happy with my job right now, because that is all it feels like, just a job versus a career.  I just feel like I could have done a lot more in life and this just isnt it for me.  My bills get paid with this one and I have job security, etc. but it just isnt it KWIM?

I keep thinking about going back to college to continue my education in my field of study but to advance my career, I just feel guilty sort of like I had my shot and now it is time for me to save for my kids college rather than spend more money on my own education.

What would you do?  It isnt like having a higher degree will gurantee that you will even get a job.

by on Dec. 6, 2012 at 1:44 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
rissarin
by Gold Member on Dec. 6, 2012 at 10:38 AM
I say go for it if you want. We've been throwing around the idea of me going back to school, just so I have more under my belt. If people in their 40s can go back, I think I can at 25. :)
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
andrea96
by Bronze Member on Dec. 6, 2012 at 10:49 AM

I got my masters several years ago. Although, I haven't really used it to advance my career up to this point, but that's really on me. I don't regret it at all. Does your employer offer any reimbursement for college expenses? My employer pays 80% of tuition and fees and 50% of books, as long as the grade is at least a B.

ETA: I was 33 when I began my masters and 34 when I graduated.

deccaf
by Platinum Member on Dec. 6, 2012 at 10:51 AM