Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Moms who scaled back or quit working altogether- Help!

Posted by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 5:14 PM
  • 15 Replies

Moms who scaled back or quit work: I'm interested to hear how you cope/ feel about that. I started a new part-time job/career path mainly to spend more time at home and try new things but it is frustrating to feel like the 'success train' is moving along without me.  I have a Master's degree and was working in a career for 7 years before I got fed up with it and decided it was more important to work part-time and see my daughter grow up.  I had been working full time since she was an infant and only scaled back once she was 3.

My husband is very successful in his career and a breadwinner.  While I am very fortunate, I am also a little jealous, like what will happen to my career in 20 years??

How can I patiently do this and still feel like I'll have a career once my kids are grown up??

by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 5:14 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Marti123
by Platinum Member on Jan. 18, 2013 at 9:03 PM
I am sorry it is a difficult transition. I have not exactly been in your position, i know my career certainly is not where it would without kids, but it is what it is. Here's a bump.

Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
ivf_blessed
by Bronze Member on Jan. 18, 2013 at 9:13 PM

I tried to scale back - I started at 25 hours a week and over the past 2 years my employers have demanded more of my time - I am now up to 35 hours a week.  I hate it (working so many hours that is) but I am more afraid to be without a job.  I have to be happy with the fact that I still get to leave work at 3 and pick my kids up directly from school but I miss being able to volunteer at the school or attend field trips.