Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Im SO torn :(

Posted by on Feb. 2, 2013 at 10:58 PM
  • 14 Replies
I am a store manager of an awesome salon i work 45 hours a week, close at least 2 nights a week not getting home until after 8:45pm, working every saturday from 10-6:30pm its getting to a point where somedays i go without seeing my kids all day till the next morning or i miss out on so much;( I am torn because I love my job but it seems not worth missing out on so much. I am thinking about opening my own shop where i will have a little more freedom to be with my family but its a little scary not having a set paycheck every week. I am looking for words of encouragement, opinions, or anyone that understands what im going through :(
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 2, 2013 at 10:58 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Monkeymama930
by Member on Feb. 3, 2013 at 8:29 AM
My friend is co owner of a restaurant he loves it!!!!! He loves being the boss. He loves finally living his dream. But it's a lot of work! Some times more work then when he was just GM at his old job.
Marti123
by Platinum Member on Feb. 3, 2013 at 8:47 AM
I have an acquaintance who opened her own salon, and her hours are far crazier than when she worked in one. 60+ hours/week.

So I would really look hard at your business plan prior to making a my big decisions.

Can you maximize your time with your children on your days off?

Good luck with your decision!
pambunce
by New Member on Feb. 3, 2013 at 8:58 AM
My biggest thing is they are getting to an age where they are going to be involved with various activities and the job i have now there is absolutely ni wiggle room on having time off to go, if i own my own shop I can at least schedule my own appointments to not interfere with my kids games at least
stayathome510
by on Feb. 3, 2013 at 4:23 PM