Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

office cliques

Posted by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 7:49 AM
  • 14 Replies
I'm new to our office (3 months) and I cannot get over how much these women constantly whisper and gossip. Its all day and I have to sit right in the middle of it. I think its rude and unproductive, but I am trying to ignore it. However, it is starting to wear on my nerves and self-esteem (can't help but wonder if some of it is about me). Does anyone else have to deal with this? I'm just amazed at grown women acting this way!
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 7:49 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
trfgirl56701
by Melissa on Mar. 5, 2013 at 8:35 AM

I don't really have anyone else working around me at my current spot but I used to have to deal with it constantly when I worked at other buildings. I usually just walked away. I've gotten to the point that I don't care what others really think anymore. It takes too much of my energy that I can use on something else.

adamsmom0116
by Gold Member on Mar. 5, 2013 at 8:40 AM

We don't really have people gossiping about other co-workers. It's more they can stand and talk for HOURS about the college ball games over the past weekend, or what's coming up this weekend, or somebody's cousin this or that. I don't mind visiting for a little bit, but a few minutes at a time ought to do it. Hang in there. Try to ignore it - turn up your music a little or do a task away from your desk for a while to get away.

cjsmom1
by Platinum Member on Mar. 5, 2013 at 8:48 AM
Yes!! I know the staff talk about me, but I only know some of it. They all talk about each other and it's worse then high school
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
deccaf
by Platinum Member on Mar. 5, 2013 at 10:39 AM