Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Thinking of leaving....

Posted by on Mar. 14, 2013 at 9:04 AM
  • 12 Replies

So, I've been working at a law firm since July 2012. My boss told me from day one, when 3 months comes I will be able to give you more money and more hours (I only work 20 hours a week). Well, it's been 8 months. I'm a single mom with no one to help. He has told me numerous times he doesn't care when or what time I come in as long as I am here 20 hours. No problem. I come in at the same time every day and leave the same time everyday. Sometimes I switch around days ( I work more hours one day so I have off the day I need) with his ok. Like I said, I'm the only one that takes care of my daughter. If she's sick, it's hard for me to find a sitter being that everyone works these days. I lost a child at 23 weeks pregnant in November. March 12 was supposed to be his due date so I wanted that day off. He said it was ok. I worked extra on Monday to make up the hours I would be missing tuesday. Tuesday night, my daughter started throwing up with a high fever. I had to switch my wednesday to thurday because my friend didn't work today and could watch my daughter. I will still have my 20 hours in this week. He told me "this is getting ridiculous at this point". I said nothing except ok.