Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

I need advice from you working moms!

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi ladies. I'm in a quandary and I just don't know what to do. I am currently 5.5 months pregnant with my first child and I work part-time as a college instructor. Our baby was unplanned but is very much loved and wanted. I just found out that both full-time professors in my topic area are retiring this summer and the college is looking to hire a new full-timer. And I believe they're looking at me to take the position! I'm so excited by the prospect, after all, full-time teaching jobs are rare and hard to get. Plus the pay would be great, especially for someone like me that has been paid near minimum wage my whole working life. However, I'd have to start less than a month after giving birth. How can I decide? What is it like to work full-time and care for a newborn? How do you manage breastfeeding? Is the stress even remotely manageable? Please give me your honest opinions no matter what they are or tell me about your personal experiences.

by on Apr. 6, 2013 at 5:12 AM
Replies (11-16):
cjsmom1
by Platinum Member on Apr. 6, 2013 at 10:14 PM

It's not easym but it can be done. Does the school have a daycare on campus? When I wasin school the daycare on campus was phenominal. It was great because I could pick him up and drop him off right before class started.

Loveplusmama
by Silver Member on Apr. 6, 2013 at 10:28 PM
You have gotten some wonderful support here and I echo much of it. I could only keep up with breastfeeding for 3-4 months after I returned to work but my children were breastfed for 6-7 months and then we supplemented with formula until the freezer stash of breast milk until it was gone.