Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I want to know how many people now-a-days worry about if they are going to lose their jobs tomorrow? How are you going to pay the bills? Take care of the kids? How do you deal with the fear?

by on Apr. 27, 2013 at 6:45 AM
Replies (11-20):
mumsy2three
by Shauna on Apr. 28, 2013 at 12:03 PM

I really don't fear losing my job. I work in education (as an assistant) and that isn't a "safe" place any more but my job provides the health care not much financially. The supervising teacher will occasionally say things about our positions/classroom possibly being in jeopardy, I tell her this isn't a career for me it's a job and if I lose it I will find another one.

If my husband lost his job I'd be a bit more concerned since he's the breadwinner so to speak but honestly as poor as we both grew up we know how to get through it. It would suck not being as comfortable as we are now but we'd be able to do it.

Medusa686
by Bronze Member on Apr. 28, 2013 at 2:09 PM

When I was laid off in Dec 2011 it was the best thing that could happen.  I was always afraid of "omg what would I do if I lost my job" etc.  I was only unemployed for 6 weeks and didn't worry one bit. I focused on planning our wedding and we were married Feb 2012. Started a new job March 2012.  Getting laid off makes you brave and a stronger person.  Now although I work FT we are ,looking to have our own business.  I'd rather be in charge of my own livelihood that shit my pants when I lose my job.  There are people at work who are in their 50's and are in constant worry.  Fuck that.  Not me.  If I lose my job again, shit happens and I don't want to work for someone else anymore anyway.  I get child support of $1k per month and I went on unemployment for the 6 weeks.  If you panic and worry it accomplishes nothing.

ivf_blessed
by Bronze Member on Apr. 28, 2013 at 3:36 PM
1 mom liked this