Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

When you are sick?

Posted by on May. 12, 2013 at 4:08 PM
  • 14 Replies

I went home sick on Thursday and did not go into work on Friday, I felt really ill.  Just starting to feel better today but I'm dreading going into work Monday.  Why?  Because for some bizarre reason my employer does not have backup for anyones jobs.  I will come into a huge pile of work.  I have yet to take holidays this year.  I really need a break yet at the same time dread taking it because I will come back to a huge mess and backlog.  I've never worked for a place like this before where everyones job is so compartmentalized, no cross training or supervision. Some days I fantasize about winning the lottery and quitting with no notice.  At this point nobody really knows how to do my job and they'd be left scrambling.  If I felt appreciated at work, if I were paid a fairer wage, I would not have these thoughts.

What happens at your work place when you are sick or on holidays?

by on May. 12, 2013 at 4:08 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mumsy2three
by Shauna on May. 12, 2013 at 5:04 PM

I'm sorry. I glad to hear you are feeling better.

I'm an assistant in a special ed classroom. When I am out sick they get a sub, if they have one to send in,  otherwise the teacher and other classroom assistant do what I would normally do. 

deccaf
by Platinum Member on May. 12, 2013 at 5:16 PM
I do what I can from home if needed. Everything else waits until I get back.
bebe_ju-rah
by Member on May. 12, 2013 at 5:18 PM
I'm a sales rep and can work from home if needed and nobody would care. As long as my clients are taken care of, my employer could care less where I am.
cjsmom1
by Platinum Member on May. 12, 2013 at 6:28 PM
Someone else has to be here so things would be ok.
calsmom62
by Silver Member on May. 12, 2013 at 10:13 PM
This for me too.