Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

I want to quit my job & dh wants me to suck it up

Posted by on May. 12, 2013 at 9:18 PM
  • 22 Replies
I work in retail as a receiving lead. Previously known as the Receiving Manager but the position. was downgraded when corporate decided not to waste salary paid managers in the warehouse. To them it was unnecessary. It's physically & mentally stressful & even my store manager has told me I don't make enough for all that my job entails. He said this when he gave me my last raise.

It isn't my actual job that I can't stand, it is the people & environment that they create there that I can't handle. Managers are constantly treating me like dirt, yelling & cussing me out in front of coworkers & customers.

Now I want to clarify that I am good at my job. I have corporate digging for my opinions on how to make workflow more accessible to increase productivity at other stores since I've increased mine by over 20% of their corporate standards.

I'm not getting treated badly at work because of incompetence. I'm getting treated this way because the managers feel entitled to take their bad days out on me as a person of lower value. That and because they get away with it.

I had plans to speak with the store manager & general operations manager about the way I've been treated but I honestly fear that they won't care. We don't have an hr dept in our location and the woman who runs hr visits very rarely. The hostile treatment spreads up so far up the chain of command I fear there is no one to confide in.

Therefore, I feel I need to part ways with this company. I'm obviously not cut out for this environment & I can't handle the stress it causes. I asked my dh what he would do & he said to be blunt he wouldn't let it bother him.