Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Gossip & rumor mills at work

Posted by on Jun. 26, 2013 at 10:49 PM
  • 9 Replies
How do you deal with negative rumors about you at work? Ignore it? Confront it?

I've been working for this company for 3 years and over the last 2 I've lost 70 pounds. It's a lot of weight, but it was over time & done the healthy way. Through exercise & healthy eating only. There are several people that have confronted me about my supposedly being anorexic.

To those that have confronted me I respectfully informed them that I eat plenty and along with my physically demanding job that requires being extremely active 5 days a week (I'm a warehouse manager) I work out a lot as well. They don't hide the fact that they believe there's more to it, asking what pills or supplements I'm taking. When I respond that I don't take anything and don't even drink caffeinated beverages they dismiss me with comments along the lines of, "yeah right."

To those who haven't confronted me, I haven't bothered to approach them. However I feel as if it's getting out of hand. One of my bosses has pulled me aside demanding that I share whatever I'm taking to lose weight. When I told her I didn't take anything she huffed and puffed away. Another bosses last words to me on my way out was "have a good evening, please eat something."

Should I say something to these people? Or let it go? I was proud of my weight loss, and of being a healthy example for my son. However, now I feel partly ashamed and embarrassed though I know I shouldn't.
by on Jun. 26, 2013 at 10:49 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
littleangie
by Member on Jun. 27, 2013 at 12:32 AM