Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Not helpful for working parents!

Posted by   + Show Post

I was looking at DD's school website for info on when to pick up schedules, etc. They are having "Wolf Day" August 27th, which is a Tuesday, between 9 and 2! And accordind to last name, she is supposed to pick up her schedule between 9 and 10! I'm pretty sure they are going to have to kiss my butt, she will pick up her schedule when I can get her there.

by on Jul. 31, 2013 at 11:15 AM
Replies (11-14):
HH6
by New Member on Jul. 31, 2013 at 10:29 PM

I am a teacher and I have the same issues.  It is frustrating that every awards ceremony is during the day.  Not only can I not take time off every time, when I take time off there has to be a substitute in place - there are 150 kids depending on me being in my classroom.  I am glad that our back to school night and some performances are during the evenings.  I completley understand the difficulty with evening events from the teacher perspective - I wind up working 12-13 hours on Back to School night and conference night, etc. but I know how much I appreciate it as a parent so I am happy to do it as a teacher.  It gives me the opportunity to meet more of my student's parents.  Go ahead and pick your child's schedule up when you can or call and ask for it to be e-mailed - they should be able to accomodate you and, most likely, many teachers there understand because they are working moms too. :) 

Medusa686
by Bronze Member on Aug. 1, 2013 at 9:59 AM

My son's school isn't too bad.  Most activities are in the evenings. Its during the spring when he has track & field events that its problematic and hard to cut out of work during the day. 

Sister_Someone
by Member on Aug. 1, 2013 at 11:45 AM

I don't even bother with this. If their schedule doesn't work for me, I go when I can and tell anyone to objects to kiss my ass.