Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

Is your job family friendly?

Posted by   + Show Post

Is your job family friendly?

If your child ends up sick, are you able to take a day off to spend with her? Are you able to leave early to pick up a sick child? What about after school activities? Are you able to go to them or do you miss some because of your job?

by on Aug. 1, 2013 at 9:22 AM
Replies (21-30):
flutter523
by Tracy on Aug. 2, 2013 at 10:22 AM
I get 10 sick days a year, 5 of which can be used as family sick time. Plus 4 personal days and all school holidays off
Lisette1528
by New Member on Aug. 2, 2013 at 11:08 AM

I'm a high school science teacher, so sort of?  Yes in the fact that I do have sick days that I can use if needed, but they tend to whine and grumble if it's a Friday because our district is always short on substitutes (and there are NO subs that have a clue about my subject, so my school kids fall behind).  I don't get to go to his school activities very often, because every time I miss work I end up doubling my work load and it ends up being a huge problem for me to get my school kids back on track.

My son and I are also in different school districts, so calendar schedules are a problem.  I go back to work two weeks before he starts school this year.  My MIL is watching him during the second week, but we're not sure what we're going to do yet the first week.

mickstinator
by on Aug. 2, 2013 at 11:13 AM

they really attempt to be, but we are very small, so there are limitations. i appreciate the level of flexibility offered, especially given the circumstances.

SouthernMamaof1
by Member on Aug. 2, 2013 at 11:14 AM

Yes.  I'm a teacher, and family comes first.

mandalyn74
by Member on Aug. 2, 2013 at 11:56 AM