Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Working Moms Working Moms

What Would You Do?

Posted by on Aug. 30, 2013 at 12:11 AM
  • 26 Replies

I work as a secretary for a local school district 4 hours a day. I have what they consider a 206 day a year position. It's a decent paying job, but with only 4 hours, nothing fantastic. I recently tried a secretarial position at the high school level and did not like it and since I am in the union, was allowed to go back to my old position. I work for an elementary school.

Now there is a position at the Administration Building for a secretary in Special Education. I am afraid to try it because it requires working on a spreadsheet of which I am not good at and have not ever had to use one. The personnel director assured me that they would and could train me. We really need the money and it would be a huge pay raise. Would you try the job? I have a ten day period when I can decide if I like it or not. I am just worried that if I don't like the job and go back to my old one I will really be embarassed.  Should I give it a try? What would you do?

3MOM627

have a nice day

by on Aug. 30, 2013 at 12:11 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
CorpCityGrl
by Bronze Member on Aug. 30, 2013 at 8:21 AM

I say give it a shot!  It's a step up and you shouldn't feel discouraged because you don't really work on spreadsheets - especially since they have assured you that they would and could train you.  No one who first works with spreadsheets is really good at it, but it's one of those things that in order to really learn it you just have to do it.  The fact that they've already told you that they will teach you is a boon.

leahbeah143
by Leah on Aug. 30, 2013 at 9:25 AM

do it!

deccaf
by Platinum Member on Aug. 30, 2013 at 9:29 AM

Give it a shot.  Excel isn't really hard to learn, especially if you have a good teacher.